Yachtsman of the year award nominations open at boat show

Nominations for the Raymarine YJA Yachtsman of the Year and Raymarine Young Sailor of the Year awards will open at 12.30pm on Friday 12 September 2008, on the Raymarine stand (G88) at the PSP Southampton Boat Show. Current title holders Sir Robin Knox-Johnston (YJA Yachtsman of the Year) and Laurence Greenough (Young Sailor of the Year) are expected to be among those opening the call for nominations.

Nominations can range from a well-known figure in the yachting or power boating world – and eyes will undoubtedly be on the Olympic and Paralympic sailors during their events in Qingdao – to a commendable member of a local boating club.

Raymarine and the YJA (Yachting Journalists’ Association) are urging visitors to the PSP Southampton Boat Show to put forward candidates who they believe should be awarded for their achievements – such as breaking a world record, a phenomenal win, overcoming adversity, or showing exceptional bravery and courage.

The recognise sporting excellence and the tremendous achievements and bravery by the very best in British sail and power – the sportsmen and women who have made a significant impact in their chosen field, and helped position Great Britain as a top sailing nation. The Yachtsman of the Year trophy carries the names of many of the greatest achievers in British yachting and power boating circles.

Following the Southampton Boat Show, nominations can be made online at Raymarine’s website or using the nomination forms which can be found at RYA affiliated clubs nationwide. Nominations must be received before 7 November 2008.