The eight entries for The Race have confirmed that they will all be on the start line on 31 December 2000

At a meeting in Southampton, the skippers of the eight entries for The Race confirmed that they will be on the start line of the no limits race around the world at 1200hrs 31 December 2000 at Barcelona.

Event founder, Bruno Peyron: ‘This event has been six years in its evolution, it has involved consultation at every stage. For all of us it is a brave challenge, we are doing something unique; and have reached agreement on the final details of the most extraordinary and most public sailing event ever.’

The 8 competitors are: PlayStation skippered by Steve Fossett (USA) Team Philips skippered by Pete Goss (GB) Club Med skippered by Grant Dalton (New Zealand) Code 1 co-skippered by Skip Novak (USA) Team Adventure skippered by Cam Lewis (USA) Millennium Challenge skippered by Tony Bullimore (GB) Polpharma Warta skippered by Roman Paske (Poland) Bayer en France skippered by Yvan Bourgnon (France)