Single-handers museum

Ellen MacArthur, Bertie Reed, Minoru Saito and Jean-Luc van den Heede have
been included in the Museum of Yachting’s Single-Handed Sailor’s Hall of Fame in Newport, Rhode Island, USA.

They were nominated by a panel of internationally renowned
single-handed sailing experts including Bill Biewenga, Billy & Joyce Black,
Jack Boye, Murray Davis, Sir Robin-Knox Johnston, Herb McCormick, JP
Mouligne, Dick Newick, Goerge Pike, Michael Richey and JP Trousilek.

The selection criteria included: unique contribution to single-handed sailing,
extraordinary achievement, pioneering spirit, outstanding performance,
advancement of the sport, overcoming a remarkable challenge and providing a
source of inspiration to others. An Induction Ceremony and Celebration will
be held at the Museum of Yachting in July. For more information look up: