Five top world racing yachtsmen nominated for 2002

Five of the most successful racing sailors in the history of the sport make up the 2002 class of inductees to Sailing World’s Hall of Fame.

Charlie Barr, Paul Cayard, Russell Coutts, Peter Barrett, and Mark Reynolds have won six Olympic medals, five America’s Cups, one Whitbread, and countless world and national championships.

As a group, their success spans the sport, from singlehanded one-design dinghies, to 60-foot ocean racers, to 130-foot America’s Cup behemoths.

Previously elected to Sailing World’s Hall of Fame: Ben Lexcen, Bill Lee, Bob Bavier, Bruce Farr, Bruce Kirby, Buddy Melges, Bus Mosbacher, Charlie Barr, Dave Perry, Dave Ullman, Dennis Conner, Doug Peterson, Eric Tabarly, Sir Francis Chichester, Gary Jobson, George O’Day, German Frers, Halsey Herreshoff, Harold Vanderbilt, Hobie Alter, John Bertrand (U.S.), Lowell North, Manfred Curry, Mark Reynolds, Nathanael Herreshoff, Olaf Harken, Olin Stephens, Paul Cayard, Paul Elvström, Peter Barrett, Sir Peter Blake, Peter Harken, Rod Johnstone, Russell Coutts, Stuart Walker, Ted Hood, Ted Turner, Tom Blackaller, and Uffa Fox.